RSS

Shine brightly

10 Mar

Lent Day 8 – March 10/22

Mark 4:21-34

He said to them, “Do you bring in a lamp to put it under a bowl or a bed? Instead, don’t you put it on its stand? 22 For whatever is hidden is meant to be disclosed, and whatever is concealed is meant to be brought out into the open. 23 If anyone has ears to hear, let them hear.”

No matter what news you follow, these days there is much to have an opinion about.  And depending on the source of that news, they may well include statements from people who are Christ followers.  I have to admit, their statements are often not helpful to the cause of the Gospel.  Then, when the newsmaker is a leader in The Church, and their actions are problematic, it breaks my heart.  

In reality, it’s not just leaders in the Church that the world is watching, and it’s not just people who are seeking ratings or readers for their news outlet.  People watch to see our reactions all the time.  We are people of the light – that light being Jesus.  When you read these passages about light, you cannot overlook the fact that we are light, and that we have a responsibilityto walk as children of light. This means that goodness, righteousness, and truth ought to characterize the way we live our lives as believers.

Friends, we are to shine the light of God’s kingdom to the world in which we live. We benefit our world only when we live as light. How are we respond to each other, to the situations we are finding ourselves in, do you shine the Light through you in your interactions? Let Jesus love show through your actions and interactions this week, this season. 

Years ago, I was on my way to a concert in Atlanta. I chose to take a cab from my conference site to the concert hall. My cabbie was a gentleman who had come to the U.S. from Africa and was telling me about the challenges of life there. As our conversation continued, he realized that I didn’t treat him like most of the people he drove. Then, looking in the rear-view mirror, with the most wonderful smile on his face he said, “You must know my Jesus”. With tears in my eyes, I assured him that I did, and we carried on our chat.

May I always treat people in a way that tells them I am a friend of Jesus before they have to ask…may you shine that light before people have to ask you. Live out the answer to Jesus’ prayer. More than ever, people need to know God, and to see Him in us.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on March 10, 2022 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a comment