RSS

(re)union by Bruxy Cavey – A review

10 May

41UbJk1Y59L._SX331_BO1,204,203,200_I wasn’t sure what to expect when I agreed to review this book, but because it was by Bruxy – I was intrigued.  I have known about Bruxy for years (he was my husband’s small group leader in Seminary!), and have watched as the church he leads has become a model for church ministry in today’s culture.  So, a new book was an exciting proposition for me to read.

Let me begin by saying this book is like sitting and hearing Bruxy share his heart and passion for reaching people with the Gospel.  He has put on no airs in writing this, and it is truly a reflection of his approach and way of communicating – so refreshing in a world that has people who think they need to sound like a less than authentic self.

Bruxy shares the gospel in 1, then 3 and finally 30 words.  His desire to bring the Gospel down to its basic roots is laudable.  This will be a fantastic resource for people to share with family and friends who are seeking, but don’t want a ton of church-y speak.

In a society where people have been turned off Jesus because of what they see religious people doing to each other (and truly, we need to just stop behaving badly to other Jesus followers!), this book is a refreshing approach.

I do, however, have some points that I disagree with – some theological issues.  But those can be attributed to Bruxy and I coming from very different traditions, and our basic tenants to approaching Scripture vary.  Those differences though, are not enough to dismiss the book at all.  I highly recommend this for those who want to more about the Jesus who came to save the world, and his call to follow him.

I am grateful to Graf-Martin Communications and to Herald Press for giving me the opportunity to independently review this Advance Reader Copy.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on May 10, 2017 in book reviews

 

Leave a Reply

 
