RSS

If they trust you…they will come.

14 Nov

images[3]I am not one who often invites friends to events I am going to.  I did this past Wednesday, and I am so glad…

Last year, about this time, Breakfast Television had a men’s a cappella group on, promoting their new album.  That group was Straight No Chaser.  Their sound is tight, yet fun, and they love to sing.  They formed as a group in their university days, and last year Atlantic Records reunited them, and signed them.  The first venture was  to create an album around a piece that went viral on youtube- the 12 Days of Christmas (check it out!).   They recently released their second Christmas album, and while I was downloading it, I discovered they were performing in Toronto Wednesday night.  I was so excited that I had to share the news of the concert.

My beloved had an evening of meeting scheduled, and not wanting to go alone – but really wanting to go, I invited some dear friends to go with me.  None of those I invited were familiar with them.  But, because we have a relationship, and they trust me to not take them somewhere they would be uncomfortable…they joined me.

The result was 3 very enthusiastic new fans. (To the point that one of my friends joined their facebook group before I did!!).  Great, you say, so you went to a concert, and your friends were happy they went with you – what’s that to do with a blog about “thinking orange”?

Currently, at the church I work at, we are in the midst of a series called “Go Fish”, (so is the church where Jeff is serving, as well as 2 other friends in the churches they serve). It’s helping us to see the importance of “fishing” for others to be followers of Jesus, and how God equips us to be able to do that. We are called to share the Good News of the Gospel.   Many people are afraid, or maybe better, extemely shy of sharing their faith with friend and family.  Even parents can have a difficult time talking about matters that are faith-focused.

Often we feel that we because we aren’t Biblical scholars, there is no way we can give adequate answers to those who have questions about the validity of the tenets of our faith.  The thought of Evangelism conjures up images of tearry-eyed, slick haired men making apologies for indiscretions, or God directing that one’s life hinges on multi-million dollar donations.  We don’t want our friends to turn away from “Bible thumping”, or shirk from a “turn or burn” presentation of how much God loves us.

Don’t get me wrong, I know that I have friends and family that I won’t get to spend eternity with, because they refuse to acknowledge Jesus as their Lord and Saviour.  I know they refuse, because I’ve tried to have that converation with them.  I can’t help but wonder though – how often does my desire to have my whole family believe in who Jesus is, look like the enthusiasm Ihad when I  introduced my friends to a new musical group?

Good News is just that, it’s news that’s just too important or exciting to keep to ourselves.  If we do, how selfish is that?  As Christians, we serve a Risen Lord, who desperately seeks to be in relationship with us.  So much so, that He sent His only Son to make that relationship possible.  Sharing that Good News doesn’t need to be complicated- indeed it needs to not be complicated – simply our story of what God is doing in our lives.  People cannot deny your story, and it’s the very unique tool God has given you to share His love.  

Sharing Jesus with someone you care about so that it can change their life…will directly impact this and the next generation.  And if we all lived like we believed it’s the revolution the world needs – what a celebration that would be.  Because, to quote Reggie Joiner, ” a hundred years from now the only thing that will matter is someone’s relationship with God.”images[8]

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on November 14, 2009 in church life, News and Updates

 

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a comment